UNIVERSITY OF ROEHAMPTON

STUDENT SENATE

Terms of Reference, Composition and Membership

Purpose

The Student Senate provides a formal forum in which:

- Students can raise issues of concern with members of the senior administration of the University.
- Students can be consulted on all key institutional matters.

Terms of Reference

The Student Senate is a consultative and advisory body that reports regularly both to Senate and to Council. As a result of its deliberations, it may make recommendations or refer matters to appropriate bodies or individuals such as Council (and its committees) or Senate (and its committees).

In particular, the Student Senate will be consulted on University strategies and University policies relating to the student experience.

Composition and membership 2022-23

University staff:

Vice-Chancellor (Chair)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Provost

Anna Gough-Yates

Chief Operating Officer Tom Rowson
Director of Strategy & External Relations Liam Hurley
Director of Finance Baljit Kaur

Pro Vice-Chancellors Stephen Driver; Richard Keogh

Laura Peters; Leigh Robinson

Dean of Students

Director of Student Life

Head of the Vice-Chancellor's Office

Head of Web and Digital Engagement

EDI Officer

Marilyn Holness

Jordan Kenny

Stacy Popovici

Andrew Mowbray

Rianna Thomas

Secretary George Turner

RSU Officers:

President of Roehampton Students' Union Harrison Cohen RSU Vice-President Education Mushtag Ismail

RSU Vice-President Community & Welfare Sharon Omonor Azams
Chair of Students' Union Council Mehmet Ali Acikgoz

Digby Stuart College President Harvey James Henson
Digby Stuart College Deputy President Joshua Mark Winters

Froebel College President

Froebel College Deputy President

Southlands College President

Southlands College Deputy President

Adam Doughaili

Whitelands College President Aaliyah Hassan

Whitelands College Deputy President Jameel Karim Aumeer Mount Clare Site Representative Jake White

Would old to the presentative dake willie

Sport Roehampton Presidents Eloise Rixon and Finlay Eaton

Asian & Minority Ethnic Students' Officer Nafisa Nabi Rashmi

Black Students' Officer Jeanne Chantal Masikini Environmental & Sustainability Officer Mona-Lisa De Greve

Gender Equality Officer Lily Wells

Interfaith Officer Ronald Semakula

International Students' Officer Yasamin Mehrasa

LGBTQ+ Officer Theviya Karunaharan

Mature Students' Officer Lynsey Cowlishaw

Mature Students' Officer

Muslim Students' Officer

Mental Health Officer

Lynsey Cowlishaw

Sana Siddique

Elliot Barlow

Off-Campus & Commuting Students' Officer Sofia Khan

Postgraduate Students' Officer Adaobi Nwokeanochie

Societies Officer Md Foqhrul Islam
Students with Caring Responsibilities Officer Andrea Vivas Prado
Students with Disabilities Officer Sophie O'Sullivan

Trans Students Officer Sasha Goloborodko

Student representatives from each department:

Arts & Digital Industries Giridhar Raghunathan
Business Ihjas Aslam Perincherri

Education Kieran Galligan
Humanities & Social Sciences Marthe Gaarder

Law School Lily Wells

Life and Health Sciences Katherine Birditt Psychology Fleur Watts

Frequency of meetings

The Student Senate will meet at least once each term and the agenda is set by the Vice-Chancellor and University Secretary in consultation with the President of Roehampton Students' Union.

George Turner, Secretary to Student Senate November 2022